Staff & Board of Directors

The Heartland United Way is governed by a Board of Directors that meets once a month to ensure the organization is fulfilling its mission of advancing the common good by creating opportunities for a better life for all. The board consists of 28 members from the communities Heartland United Way serves including Hall, Hamilton, Howard and Merrick Counties. Each volunteer board member is nominated for and elected to the position. Board members each serve 2-3 year terms. The Heartland United Way office is operated by five full-time and one part-time staff members.


To contact the Heartland United Way staff, please call the office at (308) 382-2675
President & Chief Professional Officer
Director of Finance
Campaign and Community Investment Specialist
Development Director
Public Relations & Volunteer Coordinator
Community Impact Coordinator & VISTA Supervisor
Board Members

Alison Larson (Chair), Equitable Bank
Brad Bell, Great Western Bank
Layla Crow, Ty Benton State Farm Insurance
Kevin Cunningham, Wells Fargo
Jodi Davies, Hornady Manufacturing
Kathy Eihusen, Community Volunteer
Jill Fargo, Global Industries
Matt Geiser, Helix Financial
Joe Grabowski, Pathway Bank, Cairo
Diana Hast, US Bank
Kelly Henry, Community Volunteer (2nd Vice Chair)
Vince Hernandez, Community Volunteer
Jim Hull, Home Federal Bank
Wade Jarvi, Contryman Associates, P.C.(Treasurer & Ethics Officer - See below)
Arlan Johnson, Howard County Medical Center
Justin Johnson, Community Volunteer
Joseph McDermott, Nebraska State Fair
Mark Moravec, Chief Industries
Todd Price, Ryder, Rosacker, McCue & Huston (Vice Chair)
Mike Schaefer, CHN Industrial
Cory Schmidt, City of Grand Island
Dawn Taylor, Eakes Office Plus
Shane Thorell, Edward Jones - Aurora
Thomas Walker, Central Community College
Cori Waters, Waters Family Dentistry
Rob Winter, Grand Island Public Schools
Shane Wissman, Five Points Bank
Tammy Zigler, Principal Financial Group

Ron Depué

Whistleblower Policy
The Whistleblower Policy is intended to encourage and enable employees and others to raise serious concerns within the Heartland United Way prior to seeking resolution outside the organization without fear of retaliation.  The Code of Ethics addresses the Heartland United Way’s open door policy and suggests that employees share their questions, concerns, suggestions or complaints with someone who can address them properly. The Heartland United Way’s Ethics Officer (Board Treasurer) is responsible for investigating and resolving all reported complaints and allegations concerning violations of the Code of Ethics and, at his/her discretion, shall advise the President of the Heartland United Way and/or the Finance Committee.  The current Ethics Officer is Wade Jarvi ( See the full Whistleblower Policy here.